About Our Library

Chesaning Public Library






Hours and


Library Catalog


Mission Statement:

Established under Public Act 164 of 1877 (Michigan), the Chesaning
Public Library has as its mission to provide the users with access to
multi-media resources and services for education, information, and
recreation in a friendly, efficient environment in order to combine the past 
with the needs of a changing society.  It is the desire of the Board of
Trustees to promote these resources and services and grow with the
needs of the community. 

Chesaning Public Library Board of Trustees:

Max O'Rourke, Chairperson
Diane Blackmer, Vice-Chairperson
Mechelle Kuchar, Secretary
Susan Cannon, Treasurer
Carol Bueche, Trustee
Christi Schubert, Trustee

This is a township library governed by a six-member elected Board of
Trustees who meet the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30p.m.

Chesaning Area Friends of the Library:

Meredith Adelman, President
Tracy Darling, Vice-President
Marla Rojas, Treasurer/Secretary

Library Staff:

Erin Schmandt , Library Director
Debbie Schell , Assistant Library Director
Elaine Amman, Technical Services Coordinator
Jenny Zehner , Children's ServicesCoordinator
Jessica Ebenhoeh, Library Assistant
Linda Gerding, Library Assistant
Lynne Clark, Library Assistant
Carol Chila, Library Assistant
Deborah Spencer, Library Assistant & Custodian

Library Users:

All residents of the legal service area of Chesaning Township; the contractual Townships of Albee, Brady, Chapin, and Maple Grove, and the White
Pine Library Cooperative Service Area are eligible for library service.
We also participate in the Michicard program. 

Financial Support:

1 Mil Tax - Chesaning Township
State Aid
Penal Fines
Gifts and Memorials